Major topics in mechanical engineering

Asset Publisher

Climate-neutral production - Effective CO2 management in the company
Sustainability and resource-saving management remain a long-term challenge for companies. Customers, investors, employees and other stakeholders are increasingly aware of the importance of a credible contribution in the form of effective CO2 management by companies.
read more

Asset Publisher

Companies need digital sovereignty
Companies must be able to decide over their data and business models independently. Therefore an adequate IT security is necessary; an open european data infratructure is sought after.
read more

Asset Publisher

Artificial intelligence - the future of mechanical engineering
Artificial intelligence will change business models and lead to significant progress in production - without minimizing the role of humans. Mechanical engineering relies above all on "machine learning".
read more

Asset Publisher

Logistics becomes autonomous and takes off
Vehicles that drive through a hall as if by magic and transport goods safely? In modern factories and storage systems, such Automated guided vehicles have long been part of everyday life. Intralogistics is becoming increasingly autonomous. And where conditions on the ground are not ideal, drones take over.
read more

Asset Publisher

Conserving resources - the solution is circular economy
The more people live on earth, the greater the foreseeable need for resources, the mountains of waste and the emission of greenhouse gases will become. In the future, it will no longer be enough to make raw material extraction and material processing more efficient. Circular economy must become the basis of economic activity. Mechanical and plant engineering is indispensable for this.
read more

Asset Publisher

Made ING Germany - Innovations in engineering education
Almost 200,000 engineers are employed in mechanical and plant engineering - a new record. In order to ensure competitiveness, the digital age change must also be reflected in engineering education. Curricula and teaching methods must be further developed. A joint basic engineering science course could improve networking in teaching.
read more

Climate measures for today and tomorrow: Achieving climate targets 2030
The Paris climate targets need a courageous, all encompassing political solution for Germany and Europe: a concept based on free-market principles, restructuring the energz pricing system. The goal is to achieve a low-carbon economy within the EU. The European emissions trading system was created as a market-oriented measure for this purpose. A meaningful supplementary CO2 pricing is currently under discussion.
read more

Germany needs a school subject Technology
A recent VDMA investigation shows that The vast majority of young people can finish school without ever coming into contact with a proven technical education. Germany as a nation of technology cannot really afford this.
read more

5G makes networked production possible in the first place
The new 5G mobile radio networks have the potential to take production in Germany a big step forward. The medium-sized mechanical and plant engineering companies in Germany and Europe will benefit noticeably from this, as 5G is an important building block for the future viability of the manufacturing industry in Germany.
read more

OPC UA: a common language for all machines
In the digital production world, machines from different manufacturers must be able to communicate with each other. This requires uniform standards, in the development of which the VDMA is significantly involved: the OPC UA Companion Specifications.
read more

Drive in change - the best solutions emerge in competition
The change in mobility can no longer be halted. The variety of requirements in the respective markets also requires a variety of available technologies. Hybridization and electrification are gaining momentum, as is the development of decarbonized synthetic fuels known as eFuels. Tomorrow's mobility is based on mechanical engineering - and requires open technology.
read more
Figure of the week
31% of the turnover generated in the German mechanical engineering industry in 2019 were generated in Baden-Württemberg - Bavaria (21%) and North Rhine-Westphalia (19%) followed in second and third place in the state ranking
Making Europe strong again
A united and strong Europe is now more important than ever - for citizens and companies alike. The German Council Presidency can help to set the course for an open trade policy and sustainable economic development.
The fight against trade walls is becoming increasingly important
Free market access is essential for the survival of an export-strong industry such as mechanical engineering. Increasing protectionism around the globe threatens this success.
Corona has the politics firmly in hand
It is already clear that the economic and social consequences of the corona pandemic will be more far-reaching than those of the 2008/2009 financial crisis, and the German government has taken up the challenge.

Our knowledge portals

Research portal and Statistics database

Top-Themen des Maschinenbaus

Asset Publisher

Klimaneutral produzieren - Wirksames CO2-Management im Unternehmen
Nachhaltigkeit und ressourcenschonendes Wirtschaften bleibt eine langfristige Herausforderung für Unternehmen. Kunden, Investoren, Mitarbeiter und andere Interessengruppen sind zunehmend sensibilisiert und erkennen die Bedeutung eines glaubwürdigen Beitrags in Form eines wirksamen CO2-Managements von Unternehmen.
weiterlesen

Asset Publisher

Unternehmen brauchen digitale Souveränität
Unternehmen müssen eigenständig über ihre Daten und Geschäftsmodelle entscheiden können. Eine ausreichende IT-Sicherheit ist dafür ein Grundpfeiler; eine offene europäische Dateninfrastruktur wird angestrebt.
weiterlesen

Asset Publisher

Künstliche Intelligenz - die Zukunft für den Maschinenbau
Künstliche Intelligenz wird Geschäftsmodelle verändern und in der Produktion zu erheblichem Fortschritt führen - ohne die Rolle des Menschen dabei zu minimieren. Der Maschinenbau setzt vor allem auf das "Machine Learning".
weiterlesen

Asset Publisher

Logistik wird autonom und hebt ab
Fahrzeuge, die wie von Geisterhand durch eine Halle fahren und Waren sicher transportieren? In modernen Fabriken und Lagersystemen sind solche fahrerlosen Transportsysteme längst Alltag. Die Intralogistik wird immer autonomer. Und wo am Boden die Bedingungen nicht optimal sind, übernehmen Drohnen die Arbeit.
weiterlesen

Asset Publisher

Ressourcen schonen - die Lösung heißt Kreislaufwirtschaft
Je mehr Menschen auf der Erde leben, umso größer werden absehbar der Bedarf an Ressourcen, die Müllberge und der Ausstoß von Klimagasen. In Zukunft reicht es nicht mehr aus, Rohstoffabbau und Materialverarbeitung effizienter zu machen. Kreislaufwirtschaft muss zur Grundlage des Wirtschaftens werden. Der Maschinen- und Anlagenbau ist hierfür unverzichtbar.
weiterlesen

Asset Publisher

Made ING Germany - Innovationen in der Ingenieurausbildung
Fast 200.000 Ingenieurinnen und Ingenieure sind im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau beschäftigt – ein neuer Rekord. Um die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit zu sichern, muss sich der digitale Zeitenwechsel auch in der Ingenieurausbildung widerspiegeln. Curricula und Lehrmethoden müssen weiterentwickelt werden. Ein gemeinsames ingenieurwissenschaftliches Grundlagenstudium könnte die Vernetzung in der Lehre verbessern.
weiterlesen

Klimamaßnahmen für Heute und Morgen: Erreichung der Klimaziele 2030
Die Pariser Klimaziele brauchen eine mutige politische Gesamtlösung für Deutschland und Europa: ein auf marktwirtschaftlichen Prinzipien basierendes Konzept für den Umbau des Bepreisungssystems aller Energieträger. Ziel ist eine kohlenstoffarme Wirtschaft innerhalb der EU. Das europäische Emissionshandelssystem ist hierfür eine bereits existierende marktnahe Maßnahme. Eine sinnvolle ergänzende CO2-Preisgestaltung wird momentan diskutiert.
weiterlesen

Deutschland braucht ein Schulfach Technik
Eine aktuelle VDMA-Untersuchung zeigt: Die überwiegende Mehrheit der jungen Leute kann die Schule abschließen, ohne je mit ausgewiesener Technikbildung in Berührung zu kommen. Das kann sich die Techniknation Deutschland eigentlich nicht leisten.
weiterlesen

5G macht die vernetzte Produktion erst richtig möglich
Die neuen 5G-Mobilfunknetze haben das Potenzial, die Produktion in Deutschland einen großen Schritt voranzubringen. Der mittelständische Maschinen- und Anlagenbau in Deutschland und Europa wird davon spürbar profitieren, denn 5G ist ein wichtiger Baustein für die Zukunftsfähigkeit auch der verarbeitenden Industrie in Deutschland.
weiterlesen

OPC UA: eine gemeinsame Sprache für alle Maschinen
In der digitalen Produktionswelt müssen Maschinen unterschiedlicher Hersteller miteinander kommunizieren können. Dafür braucht es einheitliche Standards, an deren Entwicklung der VDMA maßgeblich beteiligt ist: die OPC UA Companion Specifications.
weiterlesen

Antrieb im Wandel - die besten Lösungen entstehen im Wettbewerb
Der Wandel der Mobilität lässt sich nicht mehr aufhalten. Die Vielfalt der Anforderungen in den jeweiligen Märkten bedingt auch eine Vielfalt von verfügbaren Technologien. Hybridisierung und Elektrifizierung nehmen Fahrt auf, ebenso wie die Entwicklung decarbonisierter, synthetischer Kraftstoffe, sogenannter eFuels. Die Mobilität von morgen führt über den Maschinenbau – und braucht Technologieoffenheit.
weiterlesen
Zahl der Woche
3,1% des Bruttoinlandsprodukts wendet Deutschland für Forschung und Entwicklung auf. Dem von der Bundesregierung in der „Hightech-Strategie 2025“ formulierten Ziel, die F&E-Aufwendungen bis 2025 auf 3,5% zu steigern, ist man damit wieder ein Stück weit näher gekommen.
Europa wieder stark machen
Ein vereintes und starkes Europa ist jetzt wichtiger denn je – für die Bürger ebenso, wie für die Unternehmen. Die deutsche Ratspräsidentschaft kann dazu beitragen, die Weichen für eine offene Handelspolitik und einen nachhaltigen wirtschaftlichen Aufbau zu stellen.
Der Kampf gegen Handelsmauern wird immer wichtiger
Freie Marktzugänge sind überlebenswichtig für eine exportstarke Branche wie den Maschinenbau. Zunehmender Protektionismus rund um den Globus bedroht diesen Erfolg.
Corona hat die Politik fest im Griff
Schon jetzt ist klar: Die wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Folgen der Corona-Pandemie werden weitreichender sein als die der Finanzkrise 2008/2009. Ein zweiter Lockdown würde die deutsche Wirtschaft nachhaltig schwächen.

Unsere Wissensportale

Rechercheportal und Statistikdatenbank