Sharp drop in orders and cancellations hit mechanical engineering hard

Shutterstock

The mechanical engineering industry is feeling the consequences of the corona pandemic ever more acutely. A fifth VDMA survey, which was answered by 730 member companies, paints an oppressive picture.

The situation in the mechanical engineering industry has recently worsened due to the consequences of the corona pandemic. At the end of March, 84 percent of the member companies surveyed by the VDMA were already reporting adverse effects, and this figure has since risen to 98 percent (end of May). In addition, the relative shift in problems has continued: towards demand-side disruptions, i.e. order losses or cancellations. "Overall, 39 percent of the companies report a noticeable drop in orders or cancellations, 44 percent of those surveyed even serious ones. The recently indicated easing of the supply chains has fortunately continued. Over 80 percent of the companies report no or only minor disruptions," says VDMA Chief Economist Dr. Ralph Wiechers. The epicentre of the disruptions is still in Europe. More than 90 percent of the affected mechanical engineering companies reported demand-side disruptions from Europe. In the USA, too, there is an increasing number of order losses and cancellations (54 percent).
Around 45 percent of the companies expect a further easing of the disrupted supply chains in the next three months. Most of the respondents continue to view the development of the order situation more critically - on the demand side, 80 percent expect that the tense situation will not ease for the time being. In addition to supply and demand-side disruptions and liquidity bottlenecks, companies cited travel and accommodation restrictions (87%) and machines delayed or not accepted by customers (65%) as their biggest problems at present.

"Overall, 50 percent of the companies report noticeable, 35 percent of those surveyed even serious order losses or cancellations. Fortunately, the easing of the supply chains has continued. More than 80 percent of the companies report no or only minor impairments here".

Liquidity bottlenecks in most companies not an issue
The supply of liquidity to companies is virtually unchanged compared with the end of March. More than 70 percent of the companies have no or only minor liquidity concerns. However, about a quarter of the companies report noticeable and 4 percent even serious liquidity problems.
A total of 730 companies from the mechanical engineering sector took part in the fifth VDMA flash survey on corona consequences. The proportion of companies making capacity adjustments has risen from 75 to 82 percent in the last ten weeks. "More and more companies are sending their employees on short-time work or are considering staff reductions - even of parts of the core workforce. Companies that have already had to record a decline in sales in 2019 use these instruments for capacity adjustment particularly frequently," explains the VDMA chief economist.

Maschinenbau: Auftragseinbußen und Stornierungen

Shutterstock

Der Maschinenbau bekommt die Folgen der Corona-Pandemie immer heftiger zu spüren. Eine fünfte Umfrage des VDMA, die von 730 Mitgliedsfirmen beantwortet wurde, zeichnet ein beklemmendes Bild.

Die Lage im Maschinenbau hat sich aufgrund der Folgen der Corona-Pandemie zuletzt verschärft. Ende März berichteten bereits 84 Prozent der vom VDMA befragten Mitgliedsunternehmen von Beeinträchtigungen, inzwischen hat sich dieser Wert auf 98 Prozent (Ende Mai) erhöht. Zudem hat sich die relative Verschiebung der Probleme fortgesetzt: hin zu nachfrageseitigen Störungen, sprich: Auftragseinbußen oder Stornierungen. „Insgesamt melden 39 Prozent der Unternehmen merkliche, 44 Prozent der Befragten sogar gravierende Auftragseinbußen oder Stornierungen. Die zuletzt angedeutete Entspannung der Lieferketten hat sich erfreulicherweise fortgesetzt. Über 80 Prozent der Unternehmen melden keine oder nur geringe Störungen“, sagt VDMA-Chefvolkswirt Dr. Ralph Wiechers. Das Epizentrum der Störungen liegt weiterhin in Europa. Mehr als 90 Prozent der beeinträchtigten Maschinenbauer gaben nachfrageseitige Störungen aus Europa an. Auch in den USA kommt es verstärkt zu Auftragseinbußen und Stornierungen (54 Prozent).

Etwa 45 Prozent der Unternehmen erwarten für die nächsten drei Monate eine weitere Entspannung der gestörten Lieferketten. Die Entwicklung der Auftragslage sehen die meisten Befragten weiterhin kritischer – nachfrageseitig erwarten 80 Prozent, dass sich die angespannte Situation erstmal nicht entzerrt. Neben den angebots- und nachfrageseitigen Störungen und Liquiditätsengpässen gaben die Unternehmen Reise- und Aufenthaltsbeschränkungen (87%) und vom Kunden verzögert oder nicht abgenommene Maschinen (65%) als ihre derzeit größten Probleme an.

"Insgesamt melden 50 Prozent der Unternehmen merkliche, 35 Prozent der Befragten sogar gravierende Auftragseinbußen oder Stornierungen. Die Entspannung der Lieferketten hat sich erfreulicherweise fortgesetzt. Über 80 Prozent der Unternehmen melden hier keine oder nur geringe Beeinträchtigungen."

Liquiditätsengpässe in den meisten Unternehmen kein Thema
Die Liquiditätsversorgung der Unternehmen ist nahezu unverändert im Vergleich zu Ende März. Über 70 Prozent der Firmen haben keine oder nur geringe Liquiditätssorgen. Etwa ein Viertel der Unternehmen melden jedoch merkliche und 4 Prozent sogar gravierende Liquiditätsprobleme.
An der fünften VDMA-Blitzumfrage zu den Corona-Folgen beteiligten sich insgesamt 730 Firmen aus dem Maschinenbau. Der Anteil der Unternehmen, die Kapazitätsanpassungen durchführen, ist in den letzten zehn Wochen von 75 auf 82 Prozent angestiegen. „Immer mehr Unternehmen schicken Ihre Mitarbeiter in Kurzarbeit oder denken über Personalabbau nach – auch von Teilen der Stammbelegschaft. Unternehmen, die bereits 2019 einen Umsatzrückgang verbuchen mussten, nutzen diese Instrumente zur Kapazitätsanpassung besonders häufig“, erläutert der VDMA-Chefvolkswirt.