VDMA: Würzburg-Schweinfurt University of Applied Sciences is "Best Machine House 2019"

goenzcom berlin | Konstantin Gastmann

Mainfranken has the best German "Maschinenhaus": The Faculty of Mechanical Engineering of the Würzburg-Schweinfurt University of Applied Sciences has won the fourth VDMA University Award. A total of 125,000 euros in prize money was distributed.

The Faculty of Mechanical Engineering at the Würzburg-Schweinfurt University of Applied Sciences has been awarded the VDMA University Prize "Best Machine House 2019". With a record number of 38 applications received for the VDMA University Award 2019, Würzburg prevailed against 37 competitors. This year's competition called for concepts that were planned or in the process of being developed to deal innovatively with the requirements of industry 4.0 and to reorient and further develop course content, teaching and learning formats.

"With the digitalization of production, products and services, the demands on future engineers are changing dramatically," explained Hartmut Rauen, Deputy Managing Director of the VDMA, at the award ceremony in Berlin. It is therefore essential for universities to make their teaching fit for industry 4.0.

The winning concept focuses on the acquisition of competence and personal responsibility
The didactic concept "c-factory" of the winning university has fully hit the nerve of the 21-strong jury. The "c-factory" is a model factory that focuses on the acquisition of skills and the personal responsibility of learners. Students work in a realistic industrial environment, physically and digitally mapping the lifecycle of a technical product. Thus they get to know the dimensions of industry 4.0 in practical work and acquire the necessary competences. The jury was particularly positive about the teachers' willingness to open up to a completely new didactic approach and thus to question the previous teaching.

Interdisciplinary cooperation and networked thinking are in demand Three more universities made it to the
finals of the competition. The Bochum University of Applied Sciences with its Faculty of Mechatronics and Mechanical Engineering scored well with the "BO Smart Factory" learning factory - in particular due to the interdisciplinary cooperation of the courses of study Mechatronics, Mechanical Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, Sustainable Development and Industrial Engineering. With the project "Development and construction of a sustainable fresh cheese vending machine", the Kempten University of Applied Sciences succeeded in convincing the jury with three faculties - mechanical engineering, information technology and business administration. The main arguments for this were the practical relevance and the possibility of networked and agile work. The Faculty of Mechanical Engineering of the TU Munich is also one of the finalists. With the "Project-based Demonstrator Facility", the Faculty would like to improve the systematic and comprehensive networking of learning outcomes with regard to Industry 4.0. Students can construct machine subsystems in subtasks themselves and thus experience the interaction of different disciplines using concrete examples.

Ceremonial award ceremony in Berlin

The four finalists were honored at a festive awards ceremony in front of around 100 guests from business, science, politics and society in Berlin. The prize money will be used to further expand, implement and disseminate the submitted teaching concepts so that they can be sustainably anchored in the university.

With 125,000 euros, the
VDMA University Prize is the highest endowed award for engineering science university teaching in Germany. It is aimed at faculties and departments of mechanical engineering, electrical engineering and, for the first time, computer science. The winning university can look forward to over 65,000 euros - the remaining finalists will each receive 20,000 euros. A total of 38 universities took part in the competition. "Our award is an exclusive tribute to outstanding achievements in university teaching," Hartmut Rauen noted. "As Germany's largest industrial sector, it is part of our responsibility to be active in improving engineering education. For this reason, the association had already launched its "Machinery House - Platform for Innovative Teaching" initiative in 2013.

The university award is an important component of the VDMA initiative "Maschinenhaus", which supports the faculties and departments of mechanical engineering, electrical engineering and computer science in improving teaching and achieving greater academic success. It sees itself as a "platform for innovative teaching" that networks actors from universities, politics and companies.

More information about the winners can be found at http://bildung.vdma.org/hochschulpreis . Michael Patrick Zeiner, project manager of the Maschinenhaus Initiative, phone 069 6603 1160, michael.zeiner@vdma.org, will be happy to provide you with photos of the award ceremony and contacts to representatives of the award-winning universities.

Downloads

VDMA: Hochschule Würzburg-Schweinfurt ist „Bestes Maschinenhaus 2019“

goenzcom berlin | Konstantin Gastmann

In Mainfranken steht das beste deutsche „Maschinenhaus“: Die Fakultät Maschinenbau der Hochschule Würzburg-Schweinfurt hat den vierten VDMA-Hochschulpreis gewonnen. Insgesamt wurden 125.000 Euro an Preisgeldern ausgeschüttet.

Die Fakultät Maschinenbau der Hochschule Würzburg-Schweinfurt ist Gewinner des VDMA-Hochschulpreises „Bestes Maschinenhaus 2019“. Bei einer Rekordzahl von 38 eingegangenen Bewerbungen für den VDMA-Hoch-schulpreis 2019 setzte sich Würzburg somit gegen 37 Mitbewerber durch. Im diesjährigen Wettbewerb waren geplante oder im Aufbau befindliche Konzepte gefragt, die innovativ mit den Anforderungen von Industrie 4.0 umgehen und Studieninhalte, Lehr- und Lernformate neu orientieren und weiterentwickeln.

„Mit der Digitalisierung von Produktion, Produkten und Dienstleistungen verändern sich die Anforderungen an die zukünftigen Ingenieurinnen und Ingenieure dramatisch“, erläuterte Hartmut Rauen, stellvertretender VDMA-Hauptgeschäftsführer, auf der feierlichen Preisverleihung in Berlin. Daher sei es essenziell für die Hochschulen, ihre Lehre fit für Industrie 4.0 zu machen.

Siegerkonzept setzt auf Kompetenzerwerb und Eigenverantwortung
Das didaktische Konzept „c-factory“ der Siegerhochschule hat den Nerv der 21-köpfigen Jury voll getroffen. Die „c-factory“ ist eine Modellfabrik, die den Fokus auf Kompetenzerwerb und Eigenverantwortung der Lernenden legt. Die Studierenden arbeiten in einer realistischen Industrieumgebung und bilden den Lebenszyklus eines technischen Produkts physisch und digital ab. Somit lernen sie die Dimensionen von Industrie 4.0 in der praktischen Arbeit kennen und erwerben die dafür notwendigen Kompetenzen. Besonders positiv bewertete die Jury die Bereitschaft der Lehrenden, sich einem völlig neuen didaktischen Ansatz zu öffnen und damit die bisherige Lehre zu hinterfragen.

Interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit und vernetztes Denken sind gefragt
Ins Finale des Wettbewerbs hatten es noch drei weitere Hochschulen geschafft. Die Hochschule Bochum mit ihrem Fachbereich Mechatronik und Maschinenbau konnte mit der Lernfabrik „BO Smart Factory“ punkten –insbesondere aufgrund der interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit der Studiengänge Mechatronik, Maschinenbau, Informatik, Elektrotechnik, Nachhaltige Entwicklung und Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen. Mit dem Projekt „Entwicklung und Konstruktion eines nachhaltigen Frischkäseautomaten“ gelang es der Hochschule Kempten mit drei Fakultäten – Maschinenbau, Informatik und Betriebswirtschaft –, die Jury zu überzeugen. Hauptargumente hierfür waren die Praxisnähe sowie die Möglichkeit zum vernetzten und agilen Arbeiten. Die Fakultät für Maschinenwesen der TU München zählt ebenfalls zu den Finalisten. Mit der „Projektbasierten Demonstrator-Anlage“ möchte die Fakultät die Lernergebnisse hinsichtlich Industrie 4.0 besser systematisch und übergreifend vernetzen. Studierende können Maschinen-Subsysteme in Teilaufgaben selbst konstruieren und so das Zusammenspiel verschiedener Disziplinen am konkreten Beispiel erleben.

Feierliche Preisverleihung in Berlin

Die vier Finalisten wurden bei einer feierlichen Preisverleihung vor rund 100 Gästen aus Unternehmen, Wissenschaft sowie Politik und Gesellschaft in Berlin ausgezeichnet. Durch die Preisgelder sollen die eingereichten Lehrkonzepte weiter ausgebaut, implementiert und verbreitet werden, sodass eine nachhaltige Verankerung in der Hochschule ermöglicht wird.

Hochschulpreis ist Teil der VDMA-Initiative „Maschinenhaus“
Der VDMA-Hochschulpreis ist mit 125.000 Euro die höchstdotierte Auszeichnung für die ingenieurwissenschaftliche Hochschullehre in Deutschland. Er wendet sich an Fakultäten und Fachbereiche der Fächer Maschinenbau, Elektrotechnik und erstmals auch der Informatik. Über 65.000 Euro kann sich die Siegerhochschule freuen – die restlichen Finalisten erhalten jeweils 20.000 Euro. Insgesamt hatten sich 38 Hochschulen am Wettbewerb beteiligt. „Unser Preis ist eine exklusive Wertschätzung für herausragende Leistungen in der Hochschullehre“, hielt Hartmut Rauen fest. „Als größte Industriebranche Deutschlands ist es Teil unserer Verantwortung, für eine bessere Ingenieurinnen- und Ingenieurausbildung aktiv zu sein. Daher habe der Verband bereits im Jahr 2013 seine Initiative „Maschinenhaus – Plattform für innovative Lehre“ ins Leben gerufen.

Der Hochschulpreis ist wichtiger Baustein der VDMA-Initiative „Maschinenhaus“, die Fakultäten und Fachbereiche des Maschinenbaus, der Elektrotechnik und der Informatik dabei unterstützt, die Lehre zu verbessern und mehr Studienerfolg zu erreichen. Sie versteht sich dabei als „Plattform für innovative Lehre“, die Akteure aus Hochschulen, Politik und Unternehmen miteinander vernetzt.

Weitere Information über die Gewinner finden Sie unter http://bildung.vdma.org/hochschulpreis. Fotos von der Preisverleihung und Kontakte zu Vertretern der ausgezeichneten Hochschulen stellt Ihnen Michael Patrick Zeiner, Projektleiter der Maschinenhaus-Initiative, Telefon 069 6603 1160, michael.zeiner@vdma.org, gerne zur Verfügung.

Downloads