New interface for Automated guided vehicles

Audi Sport GmbH

Joint project of VDA and VDMA Materials Handling and Intralogistics Association +++ First phase of development in final phase and available online

Automated guided vehicles (AGV) play a key role in all planning scenarios for automated and networked factories. The trend towards highly individualized products requires new approaches to both the planning of production stations and the organization of material supply. The number of material transports will increase, while the factory area will not grow. AGV offer very good conditions for this fine tuning in the tightest of spaces.

Since the second half of 2017, a joint project team consisting of AGV users and manufacturers has been working on the development of a new interface to enable driverless transport systems and control software to communicate with each other manufacturer-independently, under the coordination of the German Association of the Automotive Industry (VDA) and the VDMA Materials Handling and Intralogistics Association. In this way, a wide variety of vehicles, regardless of type, capabilities or technology used, can be integrated into a common system and collaborate in complex processes.

Work on the interface comprises two milestones: the transmission of orders and status data on the one hand and navigation within a common coordinate system on the other. The preliminary work for the first milestone is now in the final phase and is available free of charge to all interested parties under the designation VDA 5050 at the following link: https://www.vda.de/de/verband/organisation/organisation-ausschuesse/arbeitskreis-auto-id.html

The associations welcome feedback on the draft and offer all interested parties the opportunity to send justified comments to the VDA or VDMA by 16.11.2019. Your contact at VDA is Robert Cameron (robert.cameron@vda.de). Your contact at VDMA is Andreas Scherb (andreas.scherb@vdma.org).

 

Picture source: Audi Sport GmbH

Picture text:
In the future, automated guided vehicles, such as this one at Audi in Neckarsulm, will be able to communicate with each other via the new interface, regardless of manufacturer.

 

Downloads

Neue Schnittstelle für Fahrerlose Transportsysteme

Audi Sport GmbH

Gemeinsames Projekt von VDA und VDMA Fördertechnik und Intralogistik +++ Erster Entwicklungsabschnitt in finaler Phase und online verfügbar

In allen Planungsszenarien zu automatisierten und vernetzten Fabriken spielen Fahrerlose Transportsysteme (FTS) eine maßgebliche Rolle. Der Trend hin zu hochindividualisierten Produkten erfordert sowohl bei der Planung der Produktionsstationen als auch bei der Organisation der Materialversorgung neue Ansätze. Die Anzahl der Materialtransporte wird sich erhöhen, während die Fabrikfläche nicht wachsen wird. Für diese Feinabstimmung auf engstem Raum bieten FTS sehr gute Voraussetzungen.

Um die Vernetzung dieser Technologie voranzutreiben, arbeitet seit dem zweiten Halbjahr 2017 ein gemeinsames Projektteam aus FTS-Nutzern und FTS-Herstellern unter Koordination des Verbandes der Automobilindustrie (VDA) und des VDMA Fachverbands Fördertechnik und Intralogistik an der Entwicklung einer neuen Schnittstelle, mit der Fahrerlose Transportsysteme und Steuerungssoftware herstellerunabhängig miteinander kommunizieren können. Auf diese Weise können verschiedenste Fahrzeuge, unabhängig von Typ, Fähigkeiten oder genutzter Technologie, in ein gemeinsames System integriert werden und im Rahmen komplexer Prozesse zusammenarbeiten.

Die Arbeit an der Schnittstelle umfasst zwei Meilensteine: die Übermittlung von Aufträgen und Statusdaten auf der einen und die Navigation innerhalb eines gemeinsamen Koordinatensystems auf der anderen Seite. Die Vorarbeiten zum ersten Meilenstein befinden sich nun in der finalen Phase und sind für alle Interessierten unter der Bezeichnung VDA 5050 kostenfrei unter dem folgenden Link verfügbar: https://www.vda.de/de/verband/organisation/organisation-ausschuesse/arbeitskreis-auto-id.html

Die Verbände freuen sich über Feedback zum Entwurf und bieten allen interessierten die Möglichkeit an, bis zum 16.11.2019 begründete Stellungnahmen an den VDA oder den VDMA zu senden. Ihr Ansprechpartner im VDA ist Robert Cameron (robert.cameron@vda.de). Ihr Ansprechpartner beim VDMA ist Andreas Scherb (andreas.scherb@vdma.org).

 

Bildquelle: Audi Sport GmbH
Bildtext: Fahrerlose Transportsysteme, wie dieses bei Audi in Neckarsulm, können künftig über die neue Schnittstelle herstellerunabhängig miteinander kommunizieren.

 

Downloads