Order intake in mechanical engineering June 2019: Large orders soften the decline

Shutterstock

In the first six months of the current year, mechanical engineering companies in Germany recorded a significant drop in their order books.

In the first half of 2019, orders declindes by 9 per cent in real terms compared with the previous year, with the minus at home and abroad reaching the same level. "This decline is attributable to the weaker global economy, the numerous mostly politically motivated upheavals and the far-reaching structural change in the automotive industry," explained VDMA economic expert Olaf Wortmann. 

In June 2019, order intake in the German mechanical engineering sector fell short of the previous year's level by 5 percent in real terms. While domestic orders fell by 16 per cent in the month under review, orders from abroad were able to maintain their already high level of the previous year. "The number of large orders from non-euro countries is surprising. It was already high in June 2018 and has now risen again, resulting in an increase of 2 percent in orders from non-euro countries. It is extremely rare that an already high level of the previous year can be maintained, let alone expanded, for large-scale orders," said Wortmann. By contrast, in the euro zone a 9 percent drop in orders was measured in June. 

This decline is attributable to the weaker global economy, the numerous mostly politically motivated upheavals and the far-reaching structural change in the automotive industry.

In the three-month period from April to June 2019, the weakening mechanical engineering economy was also evident, with orders down 8 percent year-on-year. Domestic orders fell by 12 per cent and foreign orders by 6 per cent. Orders from the euro countries shrank by 7 percent, while orders from non-euro countries fell by 5 percent.

Loading video

Auftragseingang im Maschinenbau Juni 2019: Großanlagen federn Rückgang ab

Shutterstock

Die Maschinenbauer in Deutschland haben in den ersten sechs Monaten des laufenden Jahres ein deutliches Minus in ihren Auftragsbüchern verzeichnet.

Im ersten Halbjahr 2019 verbuchten die Maschinenbauer einen Orderrückgang von real 9 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vorjahr, wobei das Minus im In- und Ausland dieselbe Höhe aufwies. „Dieser Rückgang geht auf die schwächere Weltkonjunktur, die zahlreichen meist politisch motivierten Verwerfungen und den tiefgreifenden Strukturwandel in der Automobilindustrie zurück“, erläuterte VDMA-Konjunkturexperte Olaf Wortmann. 

Im Juni 2019 verfehlte der Auftragseingang im deutschen Maschinenbau sein Vorjahresniveau um real 5 Prozent. Während die Inlandsbestellungen im Berichtsmonat um 16 Prozent sanken, konnten die Aufträge aus dem Ausland ihr ohnehin recht hohes Vorjahresniveau halten. „Überraschend ist die Zahl der Großaufträge aus den Nicht-Euro-Ländern. Sie war im Juni 2018 schon hoch und ist nun nochmals gestiegen, so dass ein Plus bei den Bestellungen aus den Nicht-Euro-Ländern von 2 Prozent resultierte. Es kommt extrem selten vor, dass ein ohnehin schon hohes Vorjahresniveau bei den Großanlagen gehalten, geschweige denn ausgebaut werden kann“, sagte Wortmann. Aus dem Euro-Raum verbuchten die Maschinenbauer im Juni dagegen ein Bestellminus von 9 Prozent. 

Der Rückgang geht auf die schwächere Weltkonjunktur, die zahlreichen meist politisch motivierten Verwerfungen und den tiefgreifenden Strukturwandel in der Automobilindustrie zurück.

Im Drei-Monats-Zeitraum April bis Juni 2019 zeigte sich die schwächelnde Maschinenbaukonjunktur ebenfalls deutlich, die Aufträge sanken um 8 Prozent im Vergleich zum Vorjahr. Die Inlandsbestellungen gingen um 12 Prozent zurück, die Auslandsorders sanken um 6 Prozent. Die Aufträge aus den Euro-Ländern schrumpften dabei um 7 Prozent, aus den Nicht-Euro-Ländern kamen 5 Prozent weniger Bestellungen.

Loading video