VDMA and EU discuss how to deal with investment from China

Europäische Union 2017

The EU is currently negotiating greater control over investment from China. At an event in Brussels, representatives of the mechanical engineering sector argued in favour of market opening in China rather than investment barriers in Europe.

Investors from China are creating a stir through acquisitions in Europe – including in mechanical engineering in Germany. So, is European cutting-edge technology at risk of being sold off? In a panel discussion in Brussels, the VDMA debated this question with the ECIPE think-tank and representatives of the European Commission and the EU Parliament. In the EU at any rate, Chinese investors have been causing concern. Institutions and Member States are currently negotiating greater control over investment from China.

Rainer Hundsdörfer, CEO of Heidelberger Druckmaschinen AG and chairman of the VDMA’s foreign trade committee, saw no need to worry about the growing influence of the Chinese. “My experience with China, and the experience of the recently acquired engineering companies, is positive”, said Hundsdörfer. Instead of threatening its own investment barriers in Europe, the EU must lobby more forcefully in China for further market opening. “China has come of age and no longer needs to protect itself from foreign investors. The country is ready for free competition”, according to Hundsdörfer.

My experience with China, and the experience of the recently acquired engineering companies, is positive.

The representatives of the European institutions took a more critical stance. “The EU needs to pursue a long-term strategy that goes beyond the duration of business plans”, said MEP Iuliu Winkler (EPP), Vice Chair of the EP International Trade Committee. In China, business relationships always have a political dimension that needs to be considered. However, Winkler also favoured dialogue with China: “The right way is cooperation, not confrontation. We need progress on the ongoing negotiations on the EU-China investment agreement.”

The European Commission also called for more intensive analysis of investments from China in the future. After all, China would not simply hand out money, but would pursue an agenda, Marco Chirullo, Deputy Head of Unit for Trade Relations with the Far East at the EU Commission’s Directorate-General for Trade, reminded the attendees. In his view, at present the competition between European and Chinese companies is not necessarily fair: “We need to look at what capital is being used in this competition. Money from the state? China is playing an unfair game on the world markets and is using the WTO rules to its advantage.”

In September 2017, the EU Commission proposed a mechanism for strengthening controls on foreign investment in the EU. A compromise between Parliament, Commission and Member States on European investment control could still be reached this year.

VDMA und EU diskutieren Umgang mit Investitionen aus China

Europäische Union 2017

Die EU verhandelt derzeit über eine stärkere Kontrolle von Investitionen aus China. Auf einer Veranstaltung in Brüssel warb der Maschinenbau für Marktöffnung in China statt Investitionsschranken in Europa.

Immer wieder machen Investoren aus China durch Firmenübernahmen in Europa von sich reden – auch im deutschen Maschinenbau. Droht europäischer Spitzentechnologie also der Ausverkauf? Diese Frage debattierten der VDMA bei einer Podiumsdiskussion in Brüssel zusammen mit der Denkfabrik ECIPE und Vertretern der Europäischen Kommission und des EU-Parlaments. In der EU jedenfalls haben chinesische Investoren zuletzt Besorgnis ausgelöst. Derzeit verhandeln Institutionen und Mitgliedsstaaten über eine stärkere Kontrolle von Investitionen aus China.

Keinen Grund zur Sorge vor dem wachsenden Einfluss der Chinesen sah Rainer Hundsdörfer, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Heidelberger Druckmaschinen AG und Vorsitzender des VDMA-Außenwirtschaftsausschusses. „Meine Erfahrung und die Erfahrungen der zuletzt übernommenen Maschinenbauunternehmen mit China sind positiv“, sagte Hundsdörfer. Statt mit eigenen Investitionsschranken in Europa zu drohen, müsse die EU in China stärker für weitere Marktöffnung werben. „China ist erwachsen geworden und muss sich nicht mehr vor ausländischen Investoren schützen. Das Land ist bereit für freien Wettbewerb“, so der Unternehmer.

"Meine Erfahrung und die Erfahrungen der zuletzt übernommenen Maschinenbauunternehmen mit China sind positiv"

Einen kritischeren Standpunkt nahmen die Vertreter der europäischen Institutionen ein. „Die EU muss eine langfristige Strategie verfolgen, die über die Dauer von Businessplänen der Unternehmen hinaus geht“, sagte MEP Iuliu Winkler (EPP), stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Handelsausschusses des Europäischen Parlaments. In China hätten Geschäftsbeziehungen auch stets eine politische Dimension, die es zu beachten gelte. Allerdings warb auch Winkler für den Dialog mit China: „Der richtige Weg ist Kooperation, nicht Konfrontation. Wir brauchen Fortschritte bei dem schon lange verhandelten EU-China-Investitionsabkommen.“

Auch die Europäische Kommission warb dafür, Investitionen aus China künftig intensiver zu analysieren. China würde schließlich nicht einfach Geld verteilen, sondern damit eine Agenda verfolgen, erinnerte Marco Chirullo, stellvertretender Leiter der Abteilung für Handel mit Fernost in der Generaldirektion Handel der EU-Kommission. Aus seiner Sicht gibt es derzeit nicht zwangsläufig fairen Wettbewerb zwischen europäischen und chinesischen Unternehmen: „Man muss schauen, mit welchem Kapitel dieser Wettbewerb stattfindet. Mit Geld vom Staat? China spielt ein unfaires Spiel auf den Weltmärkten und nutzt die WTO-Regeln zu seinen Gunsten aus.“

Im September 2017 hatte die EU-Kommission einen Mechanismus für stärkere Kontrollen ausländischer Investitionen in der EU vorgeschlagen. Einen Kompromiss über zwischen Parlament, Kommission und Mitgliedsstaaten über eine europäische Investitionskotrolle könnte noch in diesem Jahr erzielt werden.