Hard Brexit remains a horror scenario

The mechanical engineering industry hopes for an agreement between the EU and Great Britain in the Brexit talks. An EU withdrawal without a follow-up agreement would have negative consequences for the industry.

The British government has presented initial plans for the scenario that the Brexit negotiations end in an no deal withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the EU. Thilo Brodtmann, Managing Director of the VDMA, said:

"A hard Brexit remains the horror scenario for industry in Britain and Europe. A failure of the Brexit negotiations would destroy existing trade flows and value chains, endangering prosperity and jobs, especially in the UK, but also in the EU.

Great Britain and the EU are therefore called upon to make rapid progress and not to let it come down to a hanging game till March 2019. In view of the difficult negotiations, it is logical that both sides should also consider a failure of the exit negotiations as an option. But emergency plans do not release politicians from their responsibility to do everything possible to ensure that the emergency does not occur. Companies must now prepare themselves for a "hard Brexit" as a precautionary measure - but we hope that these preparations will never have to be implemented."

"A failure of the Brexit negotiations would destroy existing trade flows and value chains, endangering prosperity and jobs, especially in the UK, but also in the EU"

Ungeordneter Brexit bleibt ein Schreckensszenario

Der Maschinenbau hofft auf eine Einigung zwischen der EU und Großbritannien in den Brexit-Gesprächen. Ein EU-Ausstieg ohne Folgeabkommen hätte auch für die Industrie negative Konsequenzen.

Die britische Regierung hat erste Pläne für den Fall vorgelegt, dass die Brexit-Verhandlungen in einem „ungeregelten Ausstieg“ des Vereinigten Königreichs aus der EU enden. Dazu sagt Thilo Brodtmann, Hauptgeschäftsführer des VDMA:

„Ein ungeordneter Brexit bleibt das Schreckensszenario für die Industrie in Großbritannien und Europa. Ein Scheitern der Brexit-Verhandlungen würde bestehende Handelsströme und Wertschöpfungsketten zerstören und damit Wohlstand und Arbeitsplätze vor allem in Großbritannien, aber auch in der EU gefährden.

Großbritannien und die EU sind daher gefordert, schnell Fortschritte zu erzielen und es nicht auf eine Hängepartie bis März 2019 ankommen zu lassen. Angesichts der schleppenden Verhandlungen ist es zwar logisch, dass beide Seiten auch ein Scheitern der Austrittsverhandlungen als Option mitbedenken. Aber Notfallpläne entlassen die Politik nicht aus der Verantwortung, alles dafür zu tun, dass der Notfall nicht eintritt. Die Unternehmen müssen sich jetzt zwar vorsorglich für einen „hard Brexit“ wappnen – wir hoffen aber, dass diese Vorbereitungen nie umgesetzt werden müssen.“

"Ein Scheitern der Brexit-Verhandlungen würde bestehende Handelsströme und Wertschöpfungsketten zerstören und damit Wohlstand und Arbeitsplätze vor allem in Großbritannien, aber auch in der EU gefährden."