Product piracy continues to cause great damage in the mechanical engineering industry

Shutterstock

VDMA 2018 study: Another 7.3 billion euros in damages - China remains by far the biggest plagiarist - Counterfeits are a security risk

Product piracy and know-how theft continue to cause considerable damage to machine and plant manufacturers despite many defensive efforts. Counterfeits from China remain by far the biggest source of danger. "In spite of many announcements, nothing has really improved here in the past two years," said Steffen Zimmermann, Head of the VDMA Competence Center Industrial Security, about the results of the study Product Piracy 2018, which the association presented at the Hannover Messe (Hanover Fair). According to this survey, 71 percent of machine and plant manufacturers in Germany are affected by product or brand piracy. The estimated damage amounts to 7.3 billion euros per year.

Compared to the previous study of 2016, the absolute corporate loss has thus not changed. However, for 39 percent of those surveyed, the damage and threat to their companies from product piracy has further intensified in the past two years. Converted into jobs, a loss of 7.3 billion euros corresponds to almost 33,000 jobs. "In addition to the loss of sales and jobs, there are other consequences in the companies affected that are difficult to assess in monetary terms, such as loss of image, loss of market advantage or unjustified claims for recourse," explained Zimmermann.

 

"In addition to the loss of sales and jobs, there are other consequences in the companies affected that are difficult to assess in monetary terms, such as loss of image, loss of market advantage or unjustified claims for recourse"

Counterfeits are a security risk
The VDMA has conducted the study on product piracy every two years since 2003. For the first time this year there has been a change in counterfeit products: While previously the focus was on purely technical imitations, imitations of the external appearance or entire brands are now increasingly becoming a problem. Plagiarists want to profit from the good image of a company through optical imitation. Counterfeit products are a verifiable security risk, though: 36 percent of companies report counterfeits that pose a risk to operators or users or the environment. It is also worrying that the distribution of counterfeit products via B2B-platforms on the Internet has increased sharply - from 28 percent in 2016 to 40 percent now.

China remains the biggest plagiarist
The People's Republic of China remains the undisputed leader both in sales and especially in the production of counterfeit products. 82 percent of the companies surveyed named China as the place of origin of counterfeit products. The country is also the most frequently mentioned market (44 percent) for counterfeit products. German domestic competition follows the Chinese in this field by a clear margin. The theft of ideas in the neighborhood is declining - only 19 percent cited German companies as a source of plagiarism. In 2016, the figure was 24 percent. Italy follows closely behind (18 percent cited).
The Chinese counterfeit products are not only produced for local sales, but are also marketed worldwide. "VDMA members - even in Germany - often report to us about dealers and counterfeiters who resell their plagiarisms with only minor changes despite legally binding judgements or who are found undiminished at trade fairs even after numerous plagiarism cases," criticizes Zimmermann. "Local activities - i.e. in typical plagiarism countries - are not nearly sufficient to adequately support companies in the fight against plagiarism.

Two thirds of the companies are fighting back
In the case of plagiarism, the means of choice is to enforce the applicable rights at first out-of-court and then under civil law. However, more than a third of the companies concerned are not taking any measures. This is particularly true of small and medium-sized enterprises, but also depends on the knowledge of the specific counterfeiter. There is great disappointment among the companies surveyed about the support abroad. 85 percent of those affected complain about a lack of support from the respective authorities, 83 percent lack the necessary commitment of the local trade fair companies abroad.

The study Product Piracy 2018 was conducted by the Fraunhofer Institute for Applied and Integrated Security (AISEC) based on a survey of VDMA members in March/April 2018. Nearly 140 member companies from the mechanical engineering sector took part in the survey. A good half of these were companies with annual sales of up to 100 million euros.

 

Downloads

Produktpiraterie richtet unverändert hohen Schaden im Maschinenbau an

Shutterstock

VDMA-Studie 2018: Schadensumme abermals 7,3 Milliarden Euro - China bleibt mit großem Abstand größter Plagiator - Fälschungen sind Sicherheitsrisiko

Produktpiraterie und Know-how-Diebstahl fügen den Maschinen- und Anlagenbauern trotz vieler Abwehrbemühungen weiterhin einen erheblichen Schaden zu. Fälschungen aus China bleiben mit weitem Abstand der größte Gefahrenherd, „hier hat sich in den vergangenen beiden Jahren trotz vieler Ankündigungen nicht wirklich etwas verbessert“, sagte Steffen Zimmermann, Leiter VDMA Competence Center Industrial Security, zu den Ergebnissen der Studie Produktpiraterie 2018, die der Verband auf der Hannover Messe präsentiert hat. 71 Prozent der Maschinen- und Anlagenbauer in Deutschland sind dieser Umfrage zufolge von Produkt- oder Markenpiraterie betroffen. Der geschätzte Schaden beläuft sich dabei auf 7,3 Milliarden Euro jährlich.

Im Vergleich zur vorangegangenen Studie von 2016 hat sich der absolute Unternehmensschaden damit nicht geändert. Allerdings hat sich für 39 Prozent der Befragten die Schädigung und Bedrohung ihrer Unternehmen durch Produktpiraterie in den vergangenen beiden Jahren weiter verschärft. Umgerechnet in Arbeitsplätze entspricht eine Schadenshöhe von 7,3 Milliarden Euro knapp 33.000 Stellen. „Neben Umsatzverlust und Verlust von Arbeitsplätzen sind in den betroffenen Unternehmen darüber hinaus monetär schwer zu bewertende Folgen festzustellen, zum Beispiel Imageverlust, Verlust des Marktvorsprungs oder ungerechtfertigte Regressanforderungen“, erläuterte Zimmermann.

„Neben Umsatzverlust und Verlust von Arbeitsplätzen sind in den betroffenen Unternehmen darüber hinaus monetär schwer zu bewertende Folgen festzustellen, zum Beispiel Imageverlust, Verlust des Marktvorsprungs oder ungerechtfertigte Regressanforderungen“

Plagiate sind Sicherheitsrisiko
Der VDMA erstellt die Studie Produktpiraterie bereits seit 2003 im zweijährigen Turnus. Erstmals zeigte sich dieses Jahr bei den Plagiaten ein Wandel: Standen bisher rein technische Nachbauten im Fokus, werden jetzt verstärkt Imitationen des äußeren Erscheinungsbildes oder ganzer Marken zum Problem, um über optische Nachahmung am guten Image eines Unternehmens teilzuhaben. Plagiate stellen nachweisbar ein Sicherheitsrisiko dar: 36 Prozent der Unternehmen berichten von Fälschungen, die eine Gefahr für Bediener, Anwender oder die Umwelt mit sich bringen. Bedenklich ist auch, dass der Vertrieb von Plagiaten über B2B-Plattformen im Internet stark zugenommen hat – von 28 Prozent im Jahr 2016 auf nun 40 Prozent Nennungen.

China bleibt der größte Plagiator
Die Volksrepublik China bleibt sowohl im Vertrieb, aber besonders in der Herstellung von Plagiaten unangefochten an der Spitze. 82 Prozent der befragten Unternehmen nannten China als Herkunftsort von Plagiaten. Zudem stellt das Land mit 44 Prozent auch den am häufigsten genannten Absatzmarkt für Plagiate. Hinter den Chinesen folgt mit deutlichem Abstand die heimische Konkurrenz. Allerdings ist der Ideenklau in der Nachbarschaft rückläufig – nur noch 19 Prozent nannten deutsche Unternehmen als Quelle von Plagiaten. 2016 waren es noch 24 Prozent gewesen. Dicht dahinter folgt Italien (18 Prozent Nennungen).
Die chinesischen Plagiate werden nicht nur für den Vertrieb vor Ort hergestellt, sondern weltweit auf den Markt gebracht. „Häufig berichten uns VDMA-Mitglieder - selbst in Deutschland - von Händlern und Fälschern, die Ihre Plagiate trotz rechtskräftiger Urteile mit nur geringfügigen Änderungen weiterverkaufen oder selbst nach etlichen Plagiatsfällen unvermindert auf Messen angetroffen werden“, kritisiert Zimmermann. „Insbesondere die bisherigen Aktivitäten vor Ort - also in den typischen Plagiatsländern - reichen nicht annähernd aus, um die Unternehmen adäquat im Kampf gegen Plagiate zu unterstützen.“

Zwei Drittel der Unternehmen wehren sich
Im Plagiatsfall ist das Mittel der Wahl, die geltenden Rechte erst außergerichtlich und dann zivilrechtlich durchzusetzen. Mehr als ein Drittel der betroffenen Unternehmen ergreift jedoch keinerlei Maßnahmen. Dies trifft vor allem auf kleine und mittlere Unternehmen zu, hängt aber auch von der Kenntnis über den konkreten Fälscher ab. Große Enttäuschung herrscht bei den befragten Unternehmen über die Unterstützung im Ausland. 85 Prozent der Betroffenen beklagen eine mangelnde Unterstützung der jeweiligen Behörden, 83 Prozent fehlt das nötige Engagement der lokalen Messegesellschaften im Ausland.

Die Studie Produktpiraterie 2018 wurde  durch das Fraunhofer-Institut für Angewandte und Integrierte Sicherheit (AISEC), auf Basis einer Umfrage unter den VDMA-Mitgliedern im März/April 2018 erstellt. An der Umfrage beteiligten sich knapp 140 Mitgliedsfirmen aus dem Maschinenbau. Davon waren gut die Hälfte Unternehmen mit einem Jahresumsatz bis 100 Millionen Euro.

 

Downloads