Platform economy: Mechanical engineering drives the digital transformation

Shutterstock

Value creation in B2B business is increasingly coming from digital services. Mechanical engineering can be a driver of the new platform economy – as long as the topic is internalized all the way up to board level.

Mechanical engineering is succeeding in driving the digital transformation – so far mainly in production, but soon through new business models, too. Digital platforms and the platform economy they foster will play an ever-growing role, with value creation in the mechanical engineering industry increasingly coming from digital services. “Unlike in the consumer sector, the often complex processes do not lend themselves to radical simplification – be it the joint development and individual, customer-specific configuration of a machine, commissioning or aftersales service. But the companies have the expertise needed to meet a customer’s requirements. That will enable mechanical engineering to act as a driving force for change in the platform economy, too,” explains Hartmut Rauen, Deputy Executive Director at VDMA.

The industry will only be able to adopt this leading position, however, if smaller and medium-sized companies drive the digital transformation forward. “The issue of the platform economy needs to become firmly established at board level. Companies have to develop a clear strategy for the platform economy,” says Rauen.

Platform economy needs robust framework conditions!

As the platform economy in mechanical and plant engineering moves forward, the companies driving this development are faced with fundamental questions about the framework conditions. These form the foundation of lasting success for their projects. Efficient network infrastructures are vital for transporting large volumes of data with low latencies. The lack of efficiency in the current network infrastructure is hindering development, particularly of high-performance runtime environments in the Internet of Things (IoT). Under present conditions, it is almost impossible to imagine how complex production environments could be controlled sufficiently across companies. This creates enormous volumes of data in next to no time, which all has to be gathered, analyzed and interpreted in order to influence product processes quickly. From this point of view, the investment goods industry's hopes of establishing itself as a world-leading driver of the platform economy are under threat. The sector cannot accept having to wait until some point in the next decade for a gigabit infrastructure to be completed. It is high time that policymakers begin to act. So far, there has been plenty of talk, but little action.

Although many mechanical engineering companies are world-leading hidden champions, most of them are medium-sized businesses. By their very nature, they are therefore restricted in terms of the complex organizational and operative business processes they are capable of. However, since deep and complex connections with both procurement markets and sales markets for products and services are required, the current platform incompatibility will present a serious problem in the medium term. The services on the platforms of the leading infrastructure providers (Amazon, Google, Microsoft, …) cannot communicate with one another. As a result, the only way to achieve comprehensive market access is to develop and operate duplicate solutions for the various platforms. This excess work inordinately hinders the efforts of medium-sized companies and is not acceptable in the long term. Activities like the Industrial Data Space, which are intended to combat this incompatibility, are therefore receiving a lot of attention from the sector. Investment to support such developments is to be welcomed.

Data security, data integrity and data sovereignty are topics that are being widely and prominently discussed by all companies working on cross-company solutions for mapping business processes. The activities of state bodies outside the European legal sphere are a particular cause for concern, causing reluctance to invest in solutions for the platform economy. It is therefore extremely important that high standards and clear regulations for the security, ownership and legally-binding availability of data are not only defined, but also actively enforced internationally.

In the run-up to Hannover Messe 2018, VDMA has come together with the consulting firm Roland Berger and Deutsche Messe AG to produce the “Platform Economy in Mechanical Engineering” study, which analyses the structures for digital business models across the entire spectrum of an industrial sector in the B2B segment for the first time.

"Companies have the expertise to meet customers’ requirements. That will enable mechanical engineering to act as a driving force for change in the platform economy, too.”

The study also lists the greatest challenges facing medium-sized mechanical engineering companies, and recommends courses of action. Dr. Michael Zollenkop from Roland Berger explains: “The biggest obstacle for mechanical engineering companies lies in becoming aware of the relevance of platforms for their own business and for existing and new customer groups. Additional hardware sales, increased customer retention, standing out from the competition with innovative digital services – companies can use different types of platforms depending on their aims.”

 

Further challenges include:

  • The platform economy presents totally new requirements of expertise compared to the core business. 
  • The complexity of the B2B landscape is currently producing a large number of platforms, although the network effect is creating pressure to consolidate.
  • The pressure of competition and the opportunities in mechanical and plant engineering will both increase thanks to new opportunities for companies to stand out.

 

How digitally mature is the company?

“Before thinking about platforms, mechanical engineering companies should evaluate their situation objectively in order to set realistic targets and schedules for establishing a platform business. How digitally mature is the company? Which existing initiatives and knowledge base within the company can be built on? And finally, which knowledge holders and budgets are available for working on platforms?” says Martin Lüers from Roland Berger.

Further recommendations from the study: 

  • Developing options – which positioning with regard to platforms is right for the company? How will the business model and services need to be adapted?
  • Control over the customer interface – expanding the range to include digital services/apps and business models as the key to the customer interface.
  • Joining collaborations – some elements of digital business models are best tackled alone, others are more successful as partnerships.

 

On the „Platform Economy in Mechanical Engineering" study

The mechanical engineering industry is characterized by high levels of complexity. Many market participants produce specialized machinery in line with very specific customer demands, while many smaller markets are served by medium-sized companies. Mechanical engineering is thus very different from other industrial segments or the consumer sector. The platform economy now presents a new way to conduct business processes.

Interviews on the platform economy (German only)

This video is unfortunately not playable on Firefox.

This video is unfortunately not playable on Firefox.

This video is unfortunately not playable on Firefox.


Two key versions:

  1. Digital marketplaces for industrial goods and services
  2. Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT) platforms

The success of digital platforms is based on three characteristics: they reduce transaction costs, they enable new services and business models, and the network effect increases the benefits of platforms exponentially as the number of participants grows.

 

Currently, most of the platforms arising in the marketplace segment have vertical structures that compete with one another. A company offers its products, accessories, spare parts, services and perhaps even used machinery via the platform. The range is supplemented by suppliers of raw materials, logistics service providers, financial service providers or software houses. As a result, the customer can not only purchase the core product, but also pick up all relevant goods and services to complement it from the same platform.

"The platform economy will ring in a new age in mechanical engineering, just as it has in the B2C sector."

The success factors for platforms:

  • Low barriers to entry
  • Wide range of products and services
  • Fast platform growth
  • Gradual expansion to include payable premium services

 

 

 

Conclusion:

The platform economy will ring in a new age in mechanical engineering, just as it has in the B2C sector. In the future, the added value provided via digital services and business models will be a key element in helping mechanical engineering companies stand out. A position in the platform economy must therefore be a crucial part of any mechanical and plant engineering company.

 

Downloads

Plattformökonomie: Maschinenbau treibt digitalen Wandel voran

Shutterstock

Die Wertschöpfung im B2B-Geschäft erfolgt immer stärker durch digitale Services. Der Maschinenbau kann Treiber der neuen Plattformökonomie sein - Voraussetzung ist aber, dass das Thema auf Vorstandsebene verankert wird.

Der digitale Wandel wird vom Maschinenbau erfolgreich vorangetrieben – bisher vor allem in der Produktion, künftig auch mit neuen Geschäftsmodellen. Digitale Plattformen und die damit verbundene Plattformökonomie werden eine immer größere Rolle einnehmen, die Wertschöpfung in der Maschinenbauindustrie erfolgt immer stärker durch digitale Services. „Anders als im Consumer-Bereich lassen sich die häufig komplexen Prozesse von der gemeinsamen Entwicklung und der individuellen kundenspezifischen Konfigurierung einer Maschine über die Inbetriebnahme bis zu den After-Sales-Services aber nicht radikal vereinfachen. Das Know-how, um die Anforderungen eines Kunden zu erfüllen, haben die Unternehmen. Damit kann der Maschinenbau auch in der Plattformökonomie der Treiber des Geschehens sein“, erläutert Hartmut Rauen, stellvertretender Hauptgeschäftsführer des VDMA.

Zwingende Voraussetzung für diese führende Position ist allerdings, dass auch kleinere und mittlere Unternehmen den digitalen Wandel weiter vorantreiben. „Das Thema Plattform-Ökonomie gehört zwingend auf Vorstands- und Geschäftsführungsebene verankert. Unternehmen müssen sich für die Plattformökonomie eine klare Strategie erarbeiten“, sagt Rauen.

Plattformökonomie braucht solide Rahmenbedingungen!

Mit der Entwicklung der Plattformökonomie im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau stellen sich den Unternehmen, welche diese Entwicklung vorantreiben, grundsätzliche Fragen zu den Rahmenbedingungen. Diese sind Grundlage für einen nachhaltigen Erfolg ihrer Projekte. Grundlegend, um hohe Datenvolumina bei geringen Latenzzeiten zu transportieren, sind leistungsfähige Netzinfrastrukturen. Die mangelhafte Leistungsfähigkeit der aktuellen Netzinfrastruktur bremst insbesondere die Entwicklung performanter Laufzeitumgebungen des Internet of Things (IoT) aus. Unter den derzeitigen Bedingungen ist es kaum vorstellbar, komplexe Fertigungsumgebungen adäquat unternehmensübergreifend zu steuern. Hier entstehen in kürzester Zeit riesige Datenvolumina, die gesammelt, analysiert und interpretiert werden müssen um Produktionsprozesse zeitnah zu beeinflussen. In dieser Hinsicht ist der Anspruch der Investitionsgüterindustrie, sich als Treiber der Plattformökonomie weltweit in der Spitze zu etablieren, durchaus gefährdet. Vor diesem Hintergrund ist es für die Branche kaum akzeptabel, auf den Ausbau einer Gigabit-Infrastruktur bis irgendwann im nächsten Jahrzehnt warten zu müssen. Die Aufgabe ist seit langem an die Politik adressiert; die Umsetzung ist, trotz aller Lippenbekenntnisse, eher notleidend.

Obwohl viele Maschinenbauunternehmen als „hidden champions“ Weltmarktführer sind, sind sie als Unternehmen weitestgehend mittelständisch geprägt. Dies bringt naturgemäß Restriktionen bezüglich aufwändiger organisatorischer und operativer Geschäftsprozesse mit sich. Da andererseits eine tiefe und komplexe Verbindung sowohl in Richtung der Beschaffungsmärkte als auch in Richtung der Absatzmärkte für Produkte und Dienste erforderlich ist, stellt die aktuelle Plattform-Inkompatibilität auf mittlere Sicht ein ernsthaftes Problem dar. Die jeweiligen Dienste auf den Plattformen der marktbeherrschenden Infrastrukturanbieter (Amazon, Google, Microsoft, …) sind nicht in der Lage, miteinander zu kommunizieren. Ein umfassender Marktzugang ist demnach nur möglich, wenn Lösungen für die einzelnen Plattformen redundant entwickelt und betrieben werden. Dieser erhöhte Aufwand bremst erfolgreiche Bemühungen mittelständischer Unternehmen über Gebühr aus und ist dauerhaft nicht akzeptabel. Insofern werden Aktivitäten wie dem „Industrial Data Space“, welche diese Inkompatibilität überwinden sollen, eine hohe Aufmerksamkeit der Branche zuteil. In diesem Sinne ist es positiv zu bewerten, solche Entwicklungen mit Förderinvestitionen zu unterstützen.

Datensicherheit, Datenintegrität und Datensouveränität sind Themen, die in allen Unternehmen, welche sich mit unternehmensübergreifenden Lösungen zur Abbildung von Geschäftsprozessen befassen, an sehr prominenter Stelle diskutiert werden. Insbesondere die Aktivitäten staatlicher Stellen außerhalb des europäischen Rechtsraums erwecken Bedenken und erzeugen damit eine Zurückhaltung bei Investitionen in Lösungen zur Plattformökonomie. Insofern ist es außerordentlich wünschenswert, wenn hohe Standards und klare Regelungen für die Sicherheit, das Eigentum und die rechtsverbindliche Verfügbarkeit über Daten nicht nur definiert, sondern international auch mit Nachdruck durchgesetzt werden. 

Im Vorfeld der Hannover Messe 2018 hat der VDMA zusammen mit der Unternehmensberatung Roland Berger und der Deutschen Messe AG die Studie „Plattformökonomie im Maschinenbau“ erarbeitet, in der erstmals die Strukturen für digitale Geschäftsmodelle über die gesamte Breite einer Industriebranche im B2B-Segment hinweg analysiert werden. 

"Das Know-how, um die Anforderungen eines Kunden zu erfüllen, haben die Unternehmen. Damit kann der Maschinenbau auch in der Plattformökonomie der Treiber des Geschehens sein."

Die Studie listet auch die größten Herausforderungen sowie Handlungsempfehlungen für den mittelständischen Maschinenbau auf. Dr. Michael Zollenkop von Roland Berger erläutert dazu: „Die großen Hürden für Maschinenbauunternehmen bestehen darin, sich der Relevanz von Plattformen für das eigene Geschäft sowie der bisherigen – aber auch neuer – Kundengruppen bewusst zu werden. Zusätzliche Hardware-Umsätze, gesteigerte Kundenbindung oder Differenzierung im Wettbewerb durch neuartige digitale Services – je nach Zielstellung kommen unterschiedliche Plattformarten für das Unternehmen in Frage."

 

Zu den weiteren Herausforderungen zählen:

  • Die Plattformökonomie bringt völlig neuartige Know-how-Anforderungen im Vergleich zum Kerngeschäft mit sich, 
  • die Komplexität der B2B-Landschaft erzeugt derzeit eine Vielzahl von Plattformen. Diese sind jedoch aufgrund des Netzwerkeffektes unter einem Konsolidierungsdruck
  • der Wettbewerbsdruck und die Chancenpotentiale im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau werden aufgrund neuer Differenzierungsmöglichkeiten zunehmen.

 

Wie steht es um die "digitale Reife" des Unternehmens?

„Für den Einstieg in das Thema Plattformen sollten Maschinenbau-Unternehmen eine objektive Bestandsaufnahme durchführen, um sich realistische Ziele und Zeitpläne beim Aufbau eines Plattformgeschäfts zu geben. Wie steht es um die ,digitale Reife‘ des Unternehmens? Auf welchen existierenden Initiativen und auf welcher Wissensbasis im Unternehmen kann aufgesetzt werden? Und schließlich: Welche Know-how-Träger und Budgets stehen für eine Beschäftigung mit Plattformen zur Verfügung?", sagt Martin Lüers von Roland Berger.

Die Studie empfiehlt dazu: 

  • Entwicklung von Optionen – welche Positionierung im Umgang mit Plattformen passt zum Unternehmen, welche Anpassungen von Geschäftsmodell und Services sind erforderlich?
  • Kontrolle über die Kundenschnittstelle – Erweiterung des Angebots um digitale Services/Apps und Geschäftsmodelle als Schlüssel an der Kundenschnittstelle,
  • Eingehen von Kooperationen – manche Elemente der digitalen Geschäftsmodelle sollten in Eigenregie aufgebaut werden, manche erfolgen besser in Partnerschaften.

 

 

Zur Studie „Plattformökonomie im Maschinenbau“

Die Maschinenbauindustrie wird geprägt durch ihre hohe Komplexität. Viele Marktteilnehmer fertigen Spezialmaschinen nach ganz speziellen Kundenwünschen, und eine Vielzahl von kleinen Märkten wird von Mittelständlern bedient. Damit unterscheidet der Maschinenbau sich maßgeblich von anderen Industriezweigen oder dem Consumer-Geschäft. Die Plattformökonomie stellt nun eine neue Möglichkeit zur Abwicklung von Geschäftsvorgängen dar.

Interviews zur Plattformökonomie


Zwei Ausprägungen gibt es insbesondere:

  1. Digitale Marktplätze für industrielle Güter und Services,
  2. Industrielle Internet of Things (IoT)-Plattformen. 

Das Erfolgspotenzial von digitalen Plattformen beruht auf drei Charakteristika: Sie reduzieren Transaktionskosten, ermöglichen neue Services und Geschäftsmodelle und der Netzwerkeffekt erhöht den Nutzen der Plattformen exponentiell mit steigender Anzahl von Teilnehmern. 

 

Im Bereich der Marktplätze entstehen derzeit vor allem vertikal strukturierte Plattformen, welche in Wettbewerb zueinander treten. Dabei bietet ein Unternehmen seine Produkte, das Zubehör, die Ersatzteile und Services und eventuell auch Gebrauchtmaschinen über die Plattform an. Ergänzt wird dieses Angebot von Anbietern von Rohmaterialien, Logistikdienstleistern, Finanzierungsdienstleistern oder Softwarehäusern. Der Kunde kann sich so rund um das Kernprodukt mit allen relevanten Gütern und Leistungen auf der gleichen Plattform bedienen. 

Die Plattformökonomie wird ähnlich zum B2C-Umfeld auch im Maschinenbau eine neue Epoche einläuten.

Die Erfolgsfaktoren für Plattformen lauten:

  • niedrige Einstiegshürden,
  • ein breites Angebot von Produkten und Services,
  • ein schnelles Wachstum der Plattform,
  • der sukzessive Ausbau mit kostenpflichtigen Premiumservices.

 

 

 

Fazit:

Die Plattformökonomie wird ähnlich zum B2C-Umfeld auch im Maschinenbau eine neue Epoche einläuten. In Zukunft wird ein wichtiges Element der Differenzierung von Maschinenbauern der Mehrwert sein, der über digitale Services und Geschäftsmodelle zur Verfügung gestellt wird. Eine Positionierung in der Plattformökonomie muss deshalb essentieller Bestandteil eines jeden Maschinen- und Anlagenbauers werden. 

 

Einen Selbst-Check für Unternehmen können Sie online durchführen.

Downloads