About Us

VDMA

The Mechanical Engineering Industry Association (VDMA) represents more than 3,200 member companies in the SME-dominated mechanical and systems engineering industry in Germany and Europe.

The Mechanical and Plant Engineering Sector

The mechanical and plant engineering sector is developing solutions to meet today’s major challenges – day after day. The mechanical and plant engineering sector is Germany’s largest employer with 1,35 million employees, and it is the backbone of the German economy.

Siemens

The industry’s approximately 6,400 companies make the mechanical and plant engineering sector in Germany a driver for innovation and thus a guarantor for growth and prosperity. Mechanical engineering is one of the most research-intensive industrial sectors in Germany and accounts for approximately 10 percent of the expenditure on research and development by the economy as a whole.

Our industry is characterized by medium-sized companies. Many of these are family businesses, which often span many generations and are deeply rooted in high-performance networks of industry and science. This structure provides power to the mechanical engineering sector and gives companies the tools to set new standards in the context of global competition.

VDMA – More than 125 years with a finger on the pulse

Carl Martin Welcker,  VDMA President

Constantly looking to the future has been a key characteristic of VDMA for over 125 years.

With more than 3,200 members, VDMA is the largest network organization for mechanical engineering in Europe. The association represents the common economic, technological and scientific interests of this diverse industry.

VDMA

VDMA was founded in November 1892 and is the most important voice for the mechanical engineering industry today. It represents the issues of the mechanical and plant engineering sector in Germany and Europe. It successfully accompanies its members in global markets. Its technical expertise, industry knowledge and straightforward positioning make it a recognized and valued point of contact for companies as well as the general public, science, administration and policy makers.

VDMA-Organization

Board of Chairmen, Restricted Board, Main Board

The voluntary executive boards of the VDMA

  • Board of Chairmen,
  • Restricted Board,
  • Main Board
    The the Main Board is comprised of approximately 120 top representatives of the VDMA member companies. The Main Board sees itself as the association’s voluntary decision-making and supervisory body as well as an interdisciplinary forum for discussing topics of mechanical and plant engineering.

The Executive Directorate of VDMA

The Executive Directorate is responsible for the day-to-day business of VDMA. It implements the long-term and fundamental positioning of the association in the form of practical work. The Executive Director, Deputy Executive Director and the other members of the Executive Directorate are responsible for the work of the association and report to the Board of Chairmen and the voluntary Boards of Directors.

VDMA Structure

VDMA is divided into cross-sector departments, which generally deal with relevant issues concerning the mechanical and plant engineering sector. It has representative offices in Berlin and Brussels as well as liaison offices in important foreign markets. 36 trade associations and various working groups, as well as the international committees and forums of VDMA, deal with the branches of the mechanical engineering sector. In total, approximately 500 VDMA employees work for the members worldwide.

Focus Topics

You will find the VDMA's accumulated expert knowledge on the top topics in mechanical engineering on our focus page, together with an overview of our knowledge and research portals.

Membership

VDMA members benefit from a broad range of services, the unique mechanical engineering network as well as the expert knowledge of VDMA specialists in Germany and abroad.

Detailed information on becoming a member of VDMA is one click away.

Loading video

VDMA Members

VDMA (Verband Deutscher Maschinen- und Anlagenbau, Mechanical Engineering Industry Association) represents more than 3,200 mostly medium-sized companies in the capital goods industry, making it the largest industry association in Europe. Find VDMA Members here.

Career

The VDMA is the voice of the mechanical engineering industry, we create the conditions for the sustainable development of competitive cutting-edge technology. To this end, the VDMA offers a variety of attractive fields of work and entry opportunities, and we train junior staff. The VDMA is certified with the "Career and Family" audit. Get to know our offers on our career portal

Über den VDMA

VDMA

Mit gut 3.200 Mitgliedern ist der VDMA die größte Netzwerkorganisation und wichtiges Sprachrohr des Maschinenbaus in Deutschland und Europa.

Der Maschinen- und Anlagenbau

Für die zentralen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit entwickelt der Maschinen- und Anlagenbau Lösungen – Tag für Tag. Mit 1,35 Millionen Erwerbstätigen im Inland ist der Maschinen- und Anlagenbau der größte industrielle Arbeitgeber Deutschlands und Rückgrat der deutschen Wirtschaft.

Siemens

Seine rund 6.400 Unternehmen machen den Maschinen- und Anlagenbau in Deutschland zum Innovationsmotor und damit zum Garant für Wachstum und Wohlstand. Mit einem Anteil von rund 10 Prozent an den Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaufwendungen der Gesamtwirtschaft zählt der Maschinenbau zu den forschungsstärksten Industriezweigen Deutschlands.

Unsere Industrie ist geprägt von mittelständischen Betrieben. Viele sind Familienunternehmen – oft über viele Generationen – und tief verwurzelt in leistungsfähigen Netzwerken von Industrie und Wissenschaft. Diese Struktur macht den Maschinenbau  schlagkräftig und  gibt den Unternehmen  das Rüstzeug,  im globalen Wettbewerb  Maßstäbe zu setzen.

Der VDMA - Seit über 125 Jahren am Puls der Zeit

Carl Martin Welcker, VDMA-Präsident

Was den VDMA seit über 125 Jahren ausmacht, ist der stete Blick nach vorn.

Seine gut 3.200 Mitglieder machen den VDMA zur größten Netzwerkorganisation des europäischen Maschinenbaus. Der Verband vertritt die gemeinsamen wirtschaftlichen, technischen und wissenschaftlichen Interessen dieser vielfältigen Industrie.

VDMA

Gegründet im November 1892 ist der VDMA heute das wichtigste Sprachrohr der Maschinenbauindustrie. Er vertritt die Themen des Maschinen- und Anlagenbaus in Deutschland und Europa. Er begleitet seine Mitglieder erfolgreich auf den globalen Märkten. Seine technische Expertise, seine Branchenkenntnis und seine gradlinige Positionierung machen ihn zu einem anerkannten und geschätzten Ansprechpartner für die Unternehmen ebenso wie für die Öffentlichkeit, Wissenschaft, Verwaltung und Politik.

VDMA-Organisation

Präsidium, Engerer Vorstand, Hauptvorstand 

Die ehrenamtlichen Leitungsgremien des VDMA

  • Präsidium,
  • Engerer Vorstand,
  • Hauptvorstand
    Dem Hauptvorstand gehören rund 120 Spitzenvertreter der VDMA-Mitgliedsunternehmen an. Der Hauptvorstand versteht sich als ehrenamtliches Entscheidungs- und Kontrollgremium des Verbands sowie als interdisziplinäres Forum für die Diskussion von Themen des Maschinen- und Anlagenbaus.

Hauptgeschäftsführung

Die Hauptgeschäftsführung verantwortet das Tagesgeschäft des VDMA. Sie setzt die langfristige und grundsätzliche Positionierung des Verbandes in die praktische Arbeit um. Hauptgeschäftsführer, Stellvertretender Hauptgeschäftsführer und die weiteren Mitglieder der Hauptgeschäftsführung sind gegenüber dem Präsidium und den ehrenamtlichen Vorstandsgremien für die Arbeit des Verbandes verantwortlich.

VDMA-Struktur

Der VDMA gliedert sich auf in Querschnittsabteilungen, die sich mit grundsätzlich relevanten Themen für den Maschinen- und Anlagenbau befassen, Repräsentanzen in Berlin und Brüssel sowie Verbindungsbüros in wichtigen Auslandsmärkten. 36 Fachverbände und verschiedene Arbeitsgemeinschaften, Internationale Komitees und Foren des VDMA befassen sich mit den Fachzweigen des Maschinenbaus. Insgesamt sind weltweit rund 500 VDMA-Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter für die Mitglieder tätig.

Themenschwerpunkte

Das gesammelte Expertenwissen des VDMA zu den TOP-Themen im Maschinenbau finden Sie auf unserer Fokusseite, zusammen mit einer Übersicht unserer Wissens- und Rechercheportale. 

Mitgliedschaft

VDMA-Mitglieder profitieren von einem breiten Leistungsspektrum, dem einzigartigen Maschinenbau-Netzwerk sowie dem Fachwissen der VDMA-Experten im In- und Ausland.

Detail-Informationen zur Mitgliedschaft im VDMA können Sie mit einem Klick erreichen.

Loading video

Mitglieder

Der VDMA vertritt über 3.200 vorrangig mittelständische Unternehmen der Investitionsgüterindustrie und ist damit größter Industrieverband in Europa. Hier finden Sie die Mitgliedsunternehmen.

Karriere

Der VDMA ist das Sprachrohr der Maschinenbauindustrie, wir schaffen die Voraussetzungen für die nachhaltige Entwicklung wettbewerbsfähiger Spitzentechnologie. Dazu bietet der VDMA eine Vielzahl attraktiver Arbeitsfelder und Einstiegsmöglichkeiten, und wir bilden Nachwuchskräfte aus. Der VDMA ist zertifiziert mit dem Audit „Beruf und Familie“. Lernen Sie unsere Angebote kennen auf unserem Karriereportal